FAA Order 8000.84 contains requirements for FAA-accepted training courses for LSRI. Our courses for fixed-wing airplanes, weight-shift aircraft, and powered parachutes are FAA-accepted.

Our courses in Lawrenceville, GA can be booked in advance by groups of at least 8 attendees. Courses may be arranged at other locations with a minimum size of 12 attendees. Note that FAA does not allow mixing of attendees within a given course; each course must be dedicated to a single aircraft class (airplane, weight-shift, or powered parachute). The courses are generally held on weekends, beginning at 8:00 Saturday morning and ending by 6:00 Sunday evening. Unless you live close by, we recommend you arrive Friday evening. Arrangements for transportation, lodging, and meals are your responsibility.

The class sessions start promptly at 8:00 AM each day and end at 5:00 PM, with an hour for lunch and a 15-minute morning and afternoon break. On Sunday evening, students are asked to remain until their final test has been graded and the completion certificate issued--no later than 6:00 PM. Dress is casual--dress for your comfort. In accordance with FAA requirements, each course is limited to 16 students. Class sessions are 75% lecture/discussion using PowerPoint slides and 25% practical projects. Students must be present for all class sessions to qualify for a completion certificate; no makeup sessions are possible.

At the end of the second day, a final open-book test consisting of 50 multiple-choice questions is given. The minimum passing grade is 80%.

Once you pass the final test, we will give you a completion certificate.

If you do not pass the final test, FAA requires that you not receive a course completion certificate. To allow you the best chance of passing the test, we supply study materials when you register.


16 hr. (2 Day) LSRI Inspection Course

  • Light Sport Repairman- Inspection (LSRI)

  • Authorizes owners of Experimental Light-Sport Aircraft (E-LSAs)
    to perform the annual condition inspection only on their own aircraft.

  • Requires attending an FAA-accepted 16-hour training course

  • Separate courses for each E-LSA category

    • Airplane

    • Weight-shift

    • Powered parachute

    • Gyroplane

    • Glider